The Tide

My once shaking hands, now steady themselves
While I try to create an imperfect phrase
To compliment your perfection
So I can see the glitter glisten in your eyes
I’m usually unable to stop my mouth from running
But I guess it wants to rest against your lips
While my hand wants to preserve the feeling on your cheek

No matter how far I strayed
It seems my feelings for you stayed
No matter how far I strayed
It seems my feelings for you stayed

The pump in my chest tries to keep up with
The beating of your heart
I’m hoping it can catch up
You’re turning the blood red in my head into pastel pinks
While I pessimistically and carefully fall for you

No matter how far I strayed
It seems my feelings for you stayed
No matter how far I strayed
It seems my feelings for you stayed

Wherever I run I can’t find another human
That can warm the cold like you
Your brown eyes have glistening seas in them
And a tide that pulls me closer with each glance
So wash over me and I’ll keep swimming in your moonlight

Leave a Reply

