Sleep

I spend a lot of time in room
Thinking about if I’ll reach twenty two
Because I keep trying to be someone new
But I’ll fall back into a sleep pattern that lasts
Until three in the afternoon and begins at two in the morning
Lately that’s made me wonder whether there’s a point in waking up
Cause I’ve come to realise that I’m growing a void inside myself
That’s slowly taking my mental health

I spend a lot of time writing melodies
So that I can get it all out in the open
But I’ll hide behind another metaphor
And polysyllabic lexis that’ll confuse you
So you don’t ask how I am
I’ll just tell you that these’ll sound better while I’m at my worst
Give you a smile and say I’m okay

I spend a lot of time writing about black, blue and blonde
But you all know I’m fond of pink
Ironically enough I prefer the night sky
Yet I’m constantly dreaming of pastel pink
I’m not worthy of those though
So some dreams can just be dreams
And some nightmares can be nightmares

Leave a Reply

