Smirnoff & Tango Dreams

Maybe this place isn’t where I belong
Cause all my mistakes are becoming vultures
Tearing me piece by piece
And maybe I’m my problem
So I don’t know whether I should stop them
I’m forgetting how to stand at parties
And what to do with my hands?
I guess I’ll use them to write words that’ll destroy
Your trust in me
But I guess I’ll let your words just strangle me
There’s something haunting
About your spilled drinks
That keeps coming up in my dreams

So give me one more pep talk
While the vultures keep score

I’m waking up breathless from this dream
I’m waking up breathless to a nightmare
I’m waking up breathless from this dream
I’m waking up breathless to a nightmare

So I’m trying to find my place in all these familiar faces
I’m feeling eighteen again
But you had red hair back then and didn’t know I exist
You’re twenty-one right now though
And your plump lips and blue eyes
Are keeping me occupied
Just keep drowning me in the violet sea on your head
I’m not sure what’s real and what’s a dream
All I know is vodka sent me here and that’s why I don’t drink it often

I’m happy you’re scaring off the vultures
If only it was like that in reality
So just tell me you love me

I’m waking up breathless from this dream
I’m waking up breathless to a nightmare
I’m waking up breathless from this dream
I’m waking up breathless to a nightmare

I’m walking outside for a cig
But the devil’s hands get me by the throat
And he’s stopping me saying whatever I’m meant to
You know it’s hard when you see yourself in his eyes
You know it’s hard when you have his blood in your veins
So I guess self doubt is the devil in my bloodstream.

Leave a Reply

