Profusion

Lay on my lungs if it pleases you
You know flowing through my waves
The profusion of pink you give me in my veins
Mixed with the profusion of wine in my bloodstream
Is all too much
I know all of this is going to end me
But I can’t help but think a death at twenty is more profound than twenty-seven

I take it your lips are on loan
And your heart’s for keeps
I take it your lips are on loan
And my lungs are paying you back with oxygen

I’m breaking bottles like I’ll break my bones
Searching for feelings that keep me here
Cause I want to feel something different
And I’m starting to feel anaesthetised by your eyes
I get the vibes that alcohol just ruins our minds
And stardust rots our lungs

I take it your lips are on loan
And your heart’s for keeps
I take it your lips are on loan
And my lungs are paying you back with oxygen

I’ll always have a profusion for you though
Cause my heart’s for keeps

Leave a Reply

